Dar es Salaam is a city in the East African country of Tanzania. The name is derived from Arabic, Dār as-Salām, meaning “the house of peace”. This article is about exploring the city and getting to know Dar es Salaam better.

Dar es Salaam is the largest city in Tanzania with an estimated 4 – 6 million inhabitants. Moreover it is widely regarded as the most influential city in Tanzania. It is also largely considered the economic capital of the country. As a result it has blossomed into one of East Africa’s most important ports and trading centers. To this end Dar es Salaam is the city in Tanzania to which villagers flock for better opportunities. It also important to note that Dar es Salaam is the largest and most populous Swahili-speaking city in the world.


Formerly known as Mzizima, Dar Es Salaam was established in 1862 by Sultan Seyyid Majid as a fishing village. Until 1974, Dar es Salaam served as Tanzania’s capital city. However, the metropolitan city still remains Tanzania’s financial and political hub.


The city of Dar es Salaam is located in a picturesque bay bordered on the east by the Indian Ocean. As a result it’s lively and busy harbour is the main port in Tanzania. It’s strategic location and bustling port have subsequently led to the city’s growing success. Dar es Salaam is split into 5 regulatory sectors. Each of these administrative districts is managed as a civic council. As a result, all of the city’s suburbs or wards are affiliated with the districts.

1. Kinondoni

The is the most inhabited of all the districts. Nearly half of the city’s population resides within this area. It is also home to high-income suburbs that include:

  • Masaki, Oysterbay and Ada Estate, located along the central beach;
  • Mikocheni and Regent Estate;
  • Msasani is to the northeast of the city center;
  • Mbezi Beach, a beachfront suburb, is located along the northern Dar es Salaam Beach;
  • West of Dar es Salaam’s CBD, are Sinza, Kijitonyama, Magomeni, Kinondoni and Mwenge.
  • Tandale, Mwananyamala-Kisiwani and Kigogo are low income neighbourhoods.

2. Ilala

The administrative district of Ilala is the houses the majority of government offices and ministries. The district is home to the CBD, the Julius Nyerere International Airport, as well as some middle to high-income suburbs.


2345 Properties
Sort by:

Compare listings